AsTW2024 is Jointly offered by Kyushu University and Mahidol University.
In cooperation with Vietnam National University, Hanoi, Ateneo de Manila University, University of Malaya, and Fukuoka Women’s University.

Kyushu University

The history of Kyushu University (KU) dates back to 1911, when it was founded as Kyushu Imperial University. Since then, it has developed into one of Japan’s leading national universities and is the largest public university on the island of Kyushu. KU now has 12 undergraduate schools, 18 graduate schools, 5 research institutes, and a hospital. Adopting for its international strategy a “Focus on Asia” policy and theme, Kyushu University has striven in recent years to expand its international academic collaboration with universities across Asia and throughout the world. The number of institutional academic collaboration partners now stands at more than 400, while student exchange programs have increased to more than 310.

Mahidol University

Mahidol University, founded in 1888 as the first medical school in Thailand, has now developed into one of the most prestigious universities in Thailand, internationally well-known and recognized for its high caliber research, teaching, international academic collaboration, and professional services. Sixteen faculties, six colleges, eight research institutes and seven centers, offering courses in a wide range of disciplines including medicine, public health, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, engineering, natural sciences, computer science, health sciences, social sciences, applied sciences, applied arts, and humanities, and arts, among others. It is the only state university that has a comprehensive liberal arts-style international college.

University of Malaya

The University of Malaya (UM) has its roots in Singapore with the establishment of King Edward VII College of Medicine in 1905. In 1949 University of Malaya was formed with the amalgamation of King Edward VII College of Medicine and Raffles College in Singapore. University of Malaya Kuala Lumpur was established in 1962. In 2012, UM was granted autonomy status by the Ministry of Higher Education. It has more than 2,500 faculty members, 12 faculties, 2 academies and 3 Centres.In 2017, UM ranked 87th place in the world ranking of the QS World University Rankings and 24th place in the Asia ranking.

Vietnam National University, Hanoi

Vietnam National University, Hanoi (VNU) is the first modern university to be established in the country (1906) and one of Vietnam’s two national universities. VNU is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary academic and research institution, and a center of excellence based on international standards. VNU holds a special position in Vietnam’s higher education system and has been entrusted with the important task of providing the country with high quality human resources to meet the development needs of society, thus making important contributions to the progress of Vietnam as well as of the region and the world.

Ateneo de Manila University

The Ateneo de Manila University is one of the world’s most exciting communities of leaders and scholars. More than 150 years after the Jesuits returned to the Philippines, the Ateneo de Manila has grown into a major Jesuit university, whose schools include a college and a graduate school, four professional schools, two basic education units, and an array of research and development centers. The Ateneo began in 1859 when the City of Manila asked the Jesuits to take over the Escuela Municipal de Manila in Intramuros. The Jesuits renamed it the Ateneo de Municipal de Manila, after the Atheneum of Ancient Rome, which embodied the spirit of academic excellence.

Throughout its history, the University has provided its students with a liberal education that is distinctly Filipino, Catholic, and Jesuit. Today, the Ateneo de Manila is a highly respected university in Asia, with a commitment to academic excellence and service to God and country.


Fukuoka Women’s University

Fukuoka Women’s University was created from the former Fukuoka Prefectural College for Women, which was founded in 1923 as the first public municipal women’s college in Japan. The college achieved its university status in 1950, during the post-World War II educational reforms, and became Fukuoka Women’s University. In April 2011, the International College of Arts and Sciences was newly established with the Department of International Liberal Arts, Department of Environmental Science and the Department of Food and Health Sciences. The Graduate School of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the Graduate School of Health and Environmental Sciences were established in 2015, and these schools offer various advanced degrees. In FWU’s 90-year history, more than 12,300 students have graduated, and as alumnae made numerous and varied contributions to the society.